Xiyue WU

China Age 26

From April 16, 2004, Wu began to study the violin for one and a half years with his first teacher, which was followed by self-teaching at home. In 2016, he was admitted to Shanghai Conservatory of Music (SHCM) as an undergraduate student with the highest grade across China and studied with Prof. Lina Yu, an esteemed Chinese violinist and educator. During his undergraduate study, his performance in specialized courses was the best in the first year among students of the whole grade, and in the rest years among all violin and viola majors.

In 2021, he started to pursue his master's degree as a “recommended student exempted from the graduate exam”.

As a soloist, he performed "Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.77 (Shostakovich)" with Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra in April of 2019. In October that same year, he won the Gold Medal of the Violin Competition of "The Chinese Golden Bell Award for Music", the competition of the highest-standard of China.

In 2019, his recital "Paganini Capriccio by A Violin Prodigy " in Shenzhen Concert Hall was staged. In 2019 and 2020, he was selected into the SHCM "Peak Talent Program" for two consecutive years, and held two recitals. In September of 2021, he presented the "Virtuosity on Violin -- Ernst Krenek's Works" concert at SHCM Opera House, the premiere of the works in China.

Wu is also keen on chamber music. In September of 2017, he formed the Tang Huang Quartet, serving as its first violinist, and studied with Lan Hancheng, a famous professor of chamber music. They won the third prize in the string quartet group of SHCM’s 2018 “Chamber Music Art Week”, and the second prize in chamber music group of the Schoenfeld International String Competition the same year.



Preliminary Round

J.S. Bach - Adagio and Fuga from the Sonata No. 1 in G minor, B.W.V. 1001

N. Paganini Caprice in E major No.1

N. Paganini Caprice in C major No.11

F. Kreisler - Tambourin Chinois


Semifinal Round

L. van Beethoven - Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30

R. Schumann - Sonata No. 1 in A minor, Op. 105

F. Waxman - Carmen Fantasy (after Bizet)

Sicong Ma’s Rondo No.1


Finals Round – I

W. A. Mozart - Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K.V. 218


Finals Round – II

J. Sibelius - Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47

Copyright © 2019 CIMC 京ICP备13044071号